Lightspeed: Edited by John Joseph Adams




Lightspeed is a digital science fiction and fantasy magazine. In its pages, you will find science fiction: from near-future, sociological soft SF, to far-future, star-spanning hard SF—and fantasy: from epic fantasy, sword-and-sorcery, and contemporary urban tales, to magical realism, science-fantasy, and folktales.

A 12 month subscription to Lightspeed includes more than 100 stories (around 700,000 words of fiction). In each issue, you will find eight pieces of short fiction (a mix of short stories and novelettes) from a variety of authors—from the bestsellers and award-winners you already know to the best new voices you haven’t heard of yet. Some of the authors we’ve published over the years include Stephen King, George R.R. Martin, Ursula K. Le Guin, Neil Gaiman, N.K. Jemisin, Ted Chiang, and Ken Liu, to name but a few. In addition our short fiction offerings, Lightspeed also offers a variety of nonfiction features, including feature interviews, Q&As with our authors that go behind-the-scenes of their stories, book and media reviews, and more.

Launched in 2010, Lightspeed is a two-time winner of the Hugo Award, and stories from the magazine have been nominated for major genre awards dozens of times, including the Hugo Award, the Nebula Award, the World Fantasy Award, and the Theodore Sturgeon Award. Our editor, John Joseph Adams, has been nominated for the Hugo Award twelve times and the World Fantasy Award eight times, and in addition to editing Lightspeed he’s also edited more than thirty anthologies (including Wastelands and The Living Dead) and serves as series editor of Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy.

You can read Lightspeed for free online, or you can read and subscribe to our ebook editions. Our ebook issues publish on the first of every month and are available for sale via our ebookstore (in Mobi, ePub, and PDF format) and are also available in other formats such as Kindle and Nook. You can also subscribe to our ebook edition in a variety of formats; visit our Subscribe page for more details. Subscribing to Lightspeed saves you $1 off the cover price of each issue (savings of 25% on each issue). Sign-up for a subscription now and you’ll see where science fiction and fantasy comes from, where it is now, and where it’s going.


  • Hugo Award Winner: Best Semiprozine: Lightspeed Magazine (2014, 2015); “The Day the World Turned Upside Down” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt.
  • Hugo Award finalists: Best Editor – Short Form: John Joseph Adams (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017), Best Semiprozine: Lightspeed Magazine (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 [no longer eligible post-2015]), “Amaryllis” by Carrie Vaughn, “The Day the World Turned Upside Down” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt, “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead” by Brooke Bolander.
  • Nebula Award finalists: “Arvies” by Adam-Troy Castro, “I’m Alive, I Love You, I’ll See You in Reno” by Vylar Kaftan, “The Old Equations” by Jake Kerr, “Mama, We are Zhenya, Your Son” by Tom Crosshill, “Her Husband’s Hands” by Adam-Troy Castro, “Give Her Honey When You Hear Her Scream” by Maria Dahvana Headley, “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species” by Ken Liu, “The Sounds of Old Earth” by Matthew Kressel, “Paranormal Romance” by Christopher Barzak, “Alive, Alive Oh” by Sylvia Spruck Wrigley, “The Litigation Master and the Monkey King” by Ken Liu, “We are the Cloud” by Sam J. Miller, “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead” by Brooke Bolander, “Madeleine” by Amal El-Mohtar, “Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea” by Sarah Pinsker, “Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station│Hours Since the Last Patient Death: 0” by Caroline M. Yoachim.
  • World Fantasy Award finalists: “Breaking the Frame” by Kat Howard.
  • Million Writers Award winners: “Arvies” by Adam-Troy Castro, Best New Online Magazine of 2011 (Lightspeed Magazine)
  • Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award finalists: “Flower, Mercy, Needle, Chain” by Yoon Ha Lee, “The Old Equations” by Jake Kerr, “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species” by Ken Liu, “We are the Cloud” by Sam J. Miller.
  • Stoker Award Finalists: “Her Husband’s Hands” by Adam-Troy Castro.
  • WSFA Small Press Award finalists: “Amaryllis” by Carrie Vaughn (winner), “The Cassandra Project” by Jack McDevitt, “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species” by Ken Liu.
  • Shirley Jackson Award finalist: “The Traditional” by Maria Dahvana Headley
  • Parsec Award finalists: “Saying the Names” by Maggie Clark (winner), “The Taste of Starlight” by John R. Fultz